Kaila Sanders – Incentive Compensation – Post 7

Kaila Sanders | Saint Leo University | Incentive Compensation Intern

Week 7 – July 15, 2016

Another week in the office has flown by.  This week has been full of exciting happenings: we have made massive progress on our Recognition project, we had the opportunity to have the CEO, Bob Dutkowsky, speak at our Executive Speaker Series, I presented my internal operations audit to my manager, and today my team is going to spend the afternoon bonding – in an escape room!

The progress we have made on our Intern Recognition project this week has been absolutely outstanding.  During our meeting we were able to work together to create a game plan of exactly what we wanted to create and present for our project.  We are currently in the process of writing code (yay for improving my HTML skills) for an internal shout out program that could be housed on the new intranet, once it launches!  Many employees are actually extremely excited about our ideas, and are offering up their services to help us prepare the best presentation possible (probably because they actually are hoping it gets implemented).  The executive sponsor for our project was so impressed with our progress, that she is now having us help her on a broader spectrum of recognition programs on the new intranet.  Things are really coming together for our team, and I am getting more and more excited to present our project (FYI, the CEO accepted the invitation to our presentation – we are in the big leagues now)!

At this week’s Executive Speaker Series, we had the honor of spending an hour and a half with Tech Data CEO, Bob Dutkowsky.  I was extremely impressed with “Bob D.”  His demeanor was calm and collective; he spoke with an incredible amount of humility and was able to offer us many wise words.  Bob D. shared with us the path he took to becoming CEO, the struggles he has faced in the position, the lessons he has taken away from his career, and the strategic moves Tech Data is currently involved in.  However, the biggest piece of advice he left us with was the four key elements that he believes you will find in every truly successful person.

  1. Focus
  2. Execution
  3. Sense of Urgency
  4. Balance

It was incredible to hear Bob D. speak about these characteristics, how he has grown them in his life, and about some of the people that he has interacted with throughout his career and how these attributes were extremely apparent in them.

This week I presented my internal operations audit to my manager, and she was very impressed.  It’s always a good feeling when the work you do praised by those above you.  Next week I will be presenting the report to my entire team, and hopefully together we will come up with some strategies to improve the compensation processes that are in place! That will have to wait until next week, however, because today is the Incentive Compensation team building day!  This afternoon we are heading down the road in Clearwater to one of the new Escape Rooms.  Having never had this experience before (but having always wanted to), I am super excited to spend this time with my team.  I only have a few weeks left with them, and I am really appreciating the time I have left with this group of great people!

Well, that’s all for this week.  Have a great weekend!

Kaila at Escape Thrill