Brianna Fields – University of South Florida

Brianna Fields

Services Marketing Intern – Advanced Infrastructure Solutions Department

Over the past ten days here at Tech Data, I have done more networking, collaborating, and analyzing than I have ever done before. This is my first time working in a corporate environment so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I walked through the doors on my first day. The next few days would be spent in new employee orientation and getting to know my fellow intern class. We participated in team bonding activities, icebreakers, and even got to learn more about Tech Data’s amazing company culture. At least for me, this relaxed environment helped to relieve some of that nervous energy that every intern has the first day.

One thing that I have enjoyed the most so far is how something is always going on here at the Raymund Center. As the Services Marketing Intern for the AIS department, I have gotten to see how everyone works together to get the job done. They are always having meetings or little events (which usually involve food). Instead of everyone keeping to themselves at their desk, most of the day is spent collaborating with other people on their team. I believe this is one of the most important qualities a company can have– great communication and teamwork.

In just a short amount of time, I have already worked on various areas of work and met numerous employees. We got to meet the intern class from 2016, and see how their experiences shaped them to be who they are today. It was really cool to hear their perspectives of Tech Data and how this company helped them to grow in their career. Overall, it was very inspiring to hear them speak about this monumental period of diving into the corporate world.

I have enjoyed getting to know my fellow intern class and spending time with them to collaborate on our big group project. We have a lot of work to do, but getting together to discuss the project gives us an opportunity to strengthen our communication and leadership skills. We are all very excited to come up with something that will blow our leaders away!

Tech Data is going to provide us with so many experiences this summer that are unique to only us and the company. I cannot wait to volunteer with The United Way Foundation in their ReadingPals program. I think it is great that a corporate company finds community outreach so vital. Toastmasters and the Executive Speaker Series are two other reoccurring activities that we will be partaking in this summer. I’m excited to see all of the different perspectives on Tech Data and of course to share with all of you my journey here.