Matthew Fisher- Enterprise Sales Analytics- The University of Alabama

It has been almost a month since I’ve started working as an intern at Tech Data. The weeks are going by too fast. Tomorrow marks the end of the first half of my internship. It has truly been a transformative journey. I’ve been enjoying the challenges and hurdles along the way. It’s satisfying to see the results of my hard work coming into fruition in different projects. One goal of mine is to create tools and resources that will still be utilized even after I leave in order to leave a lasting impact.

This internship has enabled me to work alongside professionals and develop new skills and broaden my knowledge. Learning a new field while gaining experience working for a global company will prove to be invaluable as I continue down my career path. I have particularly enjoyed the Executive Speaker Series which has been instrumental in giving me more insight to how top executives think about leadership and the need to continue learning. Toastmasters is another great program offered which has given me more confidence in my public speaking. I am being amazed on a daily basis by the number of great opportunities provided to us interns.

The people have been one the best parts of Tech Data. Everybody has made me feel welcome in the office and are willing to lend me a helping hand whenever I need it. I’m grateful to have been placed on such a great team. Just yesterday, my manager took me to a partner’s conference where I was able to see firsthand how we interact with our partners and vendors. It was amazing connecting and networking with people throughout the IT channel. Tech Data has enabled me to reach new heights that I never thought possible, and I look forward to what lies ahead in the next five weeks.