Sara Rocks- Cisco Solutions- University of South Florida

It is insane to me that this summer is coming to an end. I have had the opportunity to completely immerse myself into a world and industry in which I had never seen myself in prior. Tech Data has welcomed me with open arms, given me the confidence to succeed and made me feel right at home. When people say it’s like a family here, they are not kidding! I am finding it very difficult to say goodbye to not only my team (who I absolutely love) but my fellow interns, who have been there every step of the way and always know how to make me smile!

Since the mid-way point blog, we completed our community project- revamping the Tech Data Enterprise Village room. This was definitely one of my favorite parts of the program because I got to work using another aspect of my life that I love, design and painting! This project was not only super fun, but it gave me experience collaborating with remote team members and a chance to take on a leadership role. As my journey with Cisco Marcom comes to a closing (for now), I feel so lucky to have been placed with a team I really jive with, shout out to Shannon, Judye, Kara, George and Brittany! They gave me projects that I am truly passionate about and made me feel like I add value to the team. I was given the chance to explore my love for UX Design, social media campaigning, corporate marketing strategy and so much more.

We also have heard from so many successful executives and a common thread I’ve noticed is the importance of work-life balance. This was really nice for me to hear because at this point in my life I feel an immense amount of pressure to become successful so it is easy to get caught up in career goals and exams and deadlines, when I should be living my life for the moment I’m in, for the work I am passionate about and for the people I love.

From professional to personal development… I feel like a new person, one who is ready to take on challenges and set the world on fire with my ideas. You haven’t seen the last of me Tech Data! I am so incredibly thankful to all the people that made this a summer filled with new knowledge, life lessons and laughs. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

All my love,

Sara