Vanessa Acosta – Supervisor, LAC Solutions Group (Miami) – 2007 Intern

200_vanessa acostaTell us a little about yourself (family, hobbies)

I am 32 years old. I was born and raised in Miami, Fla. I am Hispanic (Cuban/Dominican descent). I started my career at Tech Data as an intern in the Marketing Services department, now known as TD Agency, when I was 21 years old and attending college. I graduated from Florida International University with a bachelor’s in business administration and double majored in finance and international business. I also have an MBA with a concentration in management. I am married to my high school sweetheart—15 years and counting. We have two beautiful boys by the names of Nicholas (three years old) and Noah (one year old). Fun fact: I have an identical twin sister and an older sister of two years. We look like triplets!

Briefly describe what you do at Tech Data.

I am currently a Supervisor in the Product Marketing Department. I lead the Apple LA Team and the individuals who manage Logitech, Xerox, Brother, Tripp Lite, NEC, and Toshiba POS. I manage the relationships with our vendors and top customers as well as the overall strategy for each of the lines I manage. I have worked with Tech Data for 11 years and have held 7 positions during my tenure (Intern, Vendor Partner Product Administrator, Associate Business Development Manager, Business Development Manager, Business Development Representative, Marketing Team Lead, and Supervisor).

How does what you do provide value for the company, our customers and/or vendors?

I provide value for the company making smart decisions that will lead to profitable and successful outcomes. I provide excellent customer service to our customers and vendor partners by fast response times ease of doing business, efficiency, and expertise.

What do you enjoy most about working at Tech Data?

I enjoy working at Tech Data mostly due to people and its organizational culture. I feel that our team is innovative, diverse, and shares Tech Data’s core values.

If you could star in any movie or TV show, what would it be and why?

If I could star in any movie or TV show, I would star in The Pursuit of Happiness as it demonstrates that regardless of the challenges one faces. You have to work hard, persevere, and never let anyone discourage you from your dream.

What three words best describe you?

Three words that best describe me are reliable, motivated, and committed.

What is the best career advice you have been given?

The best career advice I was given is to not be intimidated by an area I do not have experience in as the eagerness to learn and adapt is key to success.

What lessons did you learn in your Tech Data internship that were not taught in school?

Lessons I learned during my internship that were not taught in school included strategic thinking, the importance of punctuality and meeting deadlines, and adapting to change.

If you could go back in time to when you were an intern, what would you do differently?

I would definitely be more vocal about my ideas and thoughts. I was very shy, timid, and feared rejection and disapproval. The internship program helped me come out of my shell and become more confident in my skills and abilities.

Do you believe that the internship program provided you with a head start in Tech Data, and if so how?

The internship program provided me with a head start in Tech Data as I had the opportunity to work with numerous other departments and service internal and external customers. The internship program gave me the opportunity to learn the strategy, processes, and practices of Tech Data Agency as well as other departments and areas of the company.

What advice would you give to a current intern?

The best advice I can give to a current intern is to work hard. Do your absolute best. Take ownership and be a team player. If you fail at something, learn from it and try again until you succeed.

What skills did you learn in the internship program that have helped shape you into the person you are today?

The skills I learned in the internship program that helped shape the person I am today are collaboration, adaptability, and time management. These skills were key to the development of the professional that I am today.

What was the biggest challenge you faced as an intern?

The biggest challenge I faced as an intern was in the early stages I felt I was not getting enough work and being under-utilized.

If you were recruiting someone to work for Tech Data, how would you describe the company?

If I were recruiting someone to work for Tech Data, I would describe the company as the world’s largest distributor of IT products and services. I would also describe Tech Data as one of the best places to work due to its innovation and excellent organizational culture.