Erin Williamson – Financial Analyst II (Clearwater) – 2016 Intern

200_erin williamson_2Tell us a little about yourself (family, hobbies).

I like to play golf and piano. I also have a yellow lab named Oliver who loves to go on walks.

Briefly describe what you do at Tech Data.

I am on the ABC team and have worked at Tech Data for one year. I build profitability models for Sales to help determine whether certain business is profitable.

How does what you do provide value for the company, our customers and/or vendors?

What I do provides value for our company, as the models that I build help to determine whether certain business is profitable and also help to determine where we should grow the business or where improvements could be made.

What do you enjoy most about working at Tech Data?

I enjoy the people I work with, and I’m always working on something new each day.

If you could star in any movie or TV show, what would it be and why?

I would star in The Sound of Music because I love musicals and I think it would be fun to visit Austria.

What three words best describe you?

Determined, honest, and easy-going.

What lessons did you learn during your Tech Data internship that were not taught in school?

I learned the best ways to communicate with people and how to appropriately manage my time.

If you could go back in time to when you were an intern, what would you do differently?

I would have tried to learn more about different areas of the business, instead of mainly just focusing on the area I worked in.

Do you believe that the internship program provided you with a head start in Tech Data, and if so, how?

Yes. Because I had already built relationships with people as an intern, it was a much easier transition coming back full-time because I already knew the people I would be working with.

What advice would you give to a current intern?

Try to learn as much as you can, build many relationships, and have fun!

What skills did you learn in the internship program that have helped shape you into the person you are today?

I learned the importance of communication and that if you want to get something accomplished, you need to communicate well with others.

What was the biggest challenge you faced as an intern?

I was hesitant to ask questions and ask for help when I was unsure of something.

If you were recruiting someone to work for Tech Data, how would you describe the company?

Tech Data is a place where you will constantly be learning and facing new challenges but in an exciting and fast-paced atmosphere.

What’s the best career advice you’ve been given?

Always try to continuously learn and gain knowledge from those around you.